Higher Ways

A verse in Isaiah has been more or less haunting me these past few months. Not a bad haunting, but it is very constant and deeply present. “For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD. (Isaiah 55:8) Sometimes it makes me concerned, because I start to think, “Well, if I want it, then obviously I shouldn’t have it– ’cause it’s my thought and not God’s.” Sometimes that is the case, but not all the time!

But then there are those verses in Psalm 37 about delighting yourself in the LORD and committing your way unto Him. So therefore, the conclusion I am reaching is that yes, God has the master plan and since He is omniscient, He knows everything and how it will work out. We are still expected to commit our plans to Him and continually acknowledge His lordship in our lives, though. Likewise, I also believe that as we “become more like Christ”, our desires and dreams will begin to be fashioned accordingly–because our utmost desire will be Christ.

On a more personal note, I have some plans I am trying to get figured out and would appreciate prayer for God’s direction–especially as to where He wants me this fall and what He wants me to do. I am finding it quite encouraging, however, that no matter where I go or, *pffft*, where I stay, I still serve an all-knowing, all-powerful, all-present God, and my purpose (regardless of location!) is to love Him with all of my heart…with all of my soul…with all of my mind…with all of my strength.

“For My thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways.”

“As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower, and bread for the eater, so is My word that goes out from My mouth: It will not return to Me empty, but will accomplish what I desire and achieve the purpose for which I sent it.”

– Isaiah 55:8-11 

And that is a God whose plans I will take heart and wait for.

One thought on “Higher Ways

Leave a Reply

