It’s All About…

This morning, after hitting the snooze button about 19 too many times, I rolled out of bed. (Literally, as I had to untangle myself from my blankets.) I took a shower, read my Bible, spent some time praying–during which I fell asleep briefly. I then proceeded to make breakfast, pack my lunch, and head out the door for work. I spent my day doing various things I normally do at work, and then I came home. I ate dinner, practiced piano (whilst enjoying boysenberry yogurt), and after opening a very boring email I am now slouched at my desk blogging about my exceedingly monotonous day. (You would do well to note I am at my desk, and not on the couch…)

I have now informed the internet world of my existence, and you should all feel enlightened to have caught a glimpse into my life.

Pahhhh. You may laugh now. I give you permission!  The above “itinerary” of my life is to illustrate a point which I will soon explain. (This blog was not created to be an online journal–and believe me, even my real journal is more exciting than that! 😀 So do not fret.)

It occurred to me, while I was playing piano and enjoying my yogurt, that we live in a society that demands affirmation more than ever. We have Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Myspace, texting…etc…and supposedly it’s to “stay in contact” with our friends. But is it rather that we want our friends to stay in contact with us? Bear with me for a moment.

ZoeKay: is eating yogurt
ZoeKay: is bored
ZoeKay: wants summer
ZoeKay: feels quite blahhh
ZoeKay: is still bored–you should text her! (And this post is followed by an unpleasant number of “LOL”s and smiley-faces.)

All these “subtle” hints. All the little hooks sent via invisible internet waves to remind our acquaintances of our own existence. Blogs (such as these), Facebook, and Myspace are dangerous because they are venues for people to lay down their emotional guard and allow their thought baggage to be unzipped and scanned by unknown masses of people.

I wonder, is it because we are too afraid to look into someone else’s eyes and possibly find that they are not as strong as we need them to be? Or is it that we so desperately desire to know that someone else is struggling with the same things we are–and so we hit “enter” and “post” and “send” until a kindred spirit ( 😀 ) clicks “comment”? I’m not saying we should delete our Facebook accounts, quit texting, or close our blogs…I’m not saying that at all. What I am saying is that we have one huge “message” sent to us directly from God (the Bible!)  and as we read it we discover that we can look into His eyes and find our strength. We just need to make sure we stay subscribed! Not that His words will ever change, but so we don’t forget the Truth.

No one gives a hoot that I had boysenberry yogurt this evening. (Nor do I expect them to! Haha.) And I don’t have to post my daily journal on the internet to feel like I have significance or meaning in life. Frankly, most people don’t care what I do each day–and they don’t need to. My affirmation comes from God as I live to seek Him. After all, I want Him to say “Well done, good and faithful servant” instead of “Well thought…” or “Well written…” (Kudos to those who inspired that analogy!) My life is supposed to be lived for God, spent seeking Him, and seen as active, living proof of the salvation and grace of God, and the love of Jesus.  So if someone could see my soul’s “status” hopefully it would resemble something like this.

ZoeKay: *GOD*

(Not that I am God, but that they see Him and not me. :D)

“Because Your love is better than life, my lips will glorify You.”
Psalm 63:3

3 thoughts on “It’s All About…

  1. Wow! Well written.

    Guilty as charged. Much of the time I’d rather (or act like I’d rather) be affirmed by people than God. But now that I’ve graduated it’s going to be a fun transition, because I’m being forced to rely more on God. It’ll be an interesting transition…

    Oh by the way…not to take away from your point, but that first part was actually kind of interesting to read. 🙂

    1. I actually struggled a bit when writing this. (Mostly just because I had a hard time figuring out *how* to say what I wanted to say!) There is nothing wrong with human affirmation–except when our desire is for that instead of God. I think what challenges me the most is when I know I need to be more concerned about pleasing God, and not my peers…but ohh the instant gratification! 😛

      HOWEVER, I did find an amazing quote the other day that is helping me…

      “What other people think of you is none of your business.”

      I don’t know who originally said it, but they sure were smart! 😀

      1. Yeah, I understand. That has been very difficult for me to deal with as I am strongly a people person and need affirmation.

Leave a Reply

