Garbage In, Garbage Out (or *wince*)

After having Lady Gaga’s “Paparazzi” and Taio Cruz’s “Break Your Heart” driving me insane this afternoon…I somehow ended up listening to “Garbage In, Garbage Out” by new Christian group, Tal & Acacia. (Lyrics and link posted below.) I’ve been trying to figure out why such songs are catchy and…dare I say…appealing? I’ve come to an almost unwilling conclusion that it’s because it entertains our fleshly desires. (Fleshly and/or sinful desires almost sound trite, I realize, but I can’t come up with any other term.)  And where there is sin entertained, there will surely be a weak justification following. I won’t lie: I can almost justify the lyrics for “Break Your Heart”, but not for “Poker Face” or “Down”.

You know what I’m saying here.

Most of our musical preferences include a good, catchy, bouncy beat…and, well, we kinda drop off after that. We feign naïveté (“Oh, is that what that means?”), ignorance (“F-word? Really? Where?!”), or deafness (“Hmm, God? Did You say something? I can’t hear You…ooh, ooh, ooooooh…”) and keep blatantly allowing these terrible themes into our brains. And what do we claim as our free pass? “Well, so-and-so Christian person listens to it, too!” 

Um, this is not good. Our actions are supposed to reflect Christ; not each other.  Hopefully as we are all mirroring Christ, there will be consistency in our actions…but only if we are all striving to serve God, and Him only. I’m just as guilty of this, so don’t assume this to be a one-sided ranting post–it’s definitely not a “fun” one, that’s for sure.

Something else to consider: Have you noticed that when you listen to music that glorifies ungodly lifestyles (maybe making the sex-and-party life seem like a good thing), that your relationship with God seems to get a little muted? Or how when you read your Bible you feel that complete, untainted access to God, yet as soon as the garbage starts seeping through your ears (or eyes, it doesn’t just have to be music) it’s like someone hit the radio scanner knob and the station becomes static-y.

We’re human. We live for “cool”. If someone we admire is doing it, chances are we’ll do it, too. It can be unseemly language, filthy movies, or “subtly” sinful music…and we cringe and wince and don’t look God in the eye until after we stop. Yes, we’re human. We’re also incredibly stupid at times, and desperately in need of a Savior to deliver us from our sinful appetite. Well, we have a Savior, and, uh, aren’t we committed to serving Him? Isn’t that what the term “Christian” has to do with? Soooo…yeah.

I’m not always fond of these revelations. It produces about the same effect as getting sand in your underwear…ever-so uncomfortable…but hopefully it causes us to move.

________________________________

Sittin’ alone now,
Thinkin’ about things,
Goin’ on inside of me.
I feel so angry, so sinful,
And I wonder how this could be.
But, now I remember,
what You said to me long ago.
That what goes in you,
Will one day surely show.
It’s gonna show.

Garbage in, Garbage out.
What goes in is found out.
All can see what goes in me.
I pay the price.

I fill my mind with bad things.
So horrible, I feel ashamed they show.
I’ve taken sin so lightly.
That lately, oh, the darkness is all I know.
The time is now,
Oh, to leave the junk behind.
The moment has arrived,
Where I no longer am blind.
It’s garbage in.

Garbage in, Garbage out.
What goes in is found out.
All can see what goes in me.
I pay the price.

Jesus…
Forgive me for leaving you to please myself.
Jesus…
I see the mistake in loving this world’s wealth.
Oh Lord, grab hold of this sin-filled child.
For now, ’cause the darkness is all around.

Tal & Acacia ~ Garbage In, Garbage Out
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJ5xljJYVNc&feature=related

________________________________

“Since, then, you have been raised with Christ, set your hearts on things above, where Christ is seated at the right hand of God. Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things. For you died, and your life is now hidden with Christ in God. When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with him in glory.

 Put to death, therefore, whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these, the wrath of God is coming. You used to walk in these ways, in the life you once lived. But now you must rid yourselves of all such things as these: anger, rage, malice, slander, and filthy language from your lips. Do not lie to each other, since you have taken off your old self with its practices and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.”

– Colossians 3:1-10

Leave a Reply

