If Time Flies, Where Does it Go?

Spending time with God in the morning always makes the day go better. It’s not like a magic potion that Morning God Time = Everything I Want Works Out, but it definitely puts a positive shine to it!  Like the fact that I found my flash drive. I was praying this morning before reading my Bible, and as I was asking God to help me work through something, my mind wandered off to thinking about my flash drive. You know that lightbulb “ding” effect? It was pretty much like that; suddenly I checked in a place I apparently hadn’t before…and there it was. So that was cool.

I’ve been thinking about how God gives us 24 hours in a day, and research recommends we sleep for a third of that time. Ergo, we are left with sixteen hours each day to manage. Now, suppose we devote an hour to solid Scripture and prayer time. We now have fifteen hours. But then, most people (myself not quite included) work eight-hour shifts, so that leaves seven for them, and a few more for the rest of us. So say we’re gone for even six hours out of that day, like I usually am, that still leaves me ten hours of free time…well, minus a mode of 3-4 hours or so for homework…6-7 hours. Goodness!

I’m considering keeping a log of how I spend my time. I know I fill it with a lot of useful things…church activities, work, homework, piano, dishes, etc…but I also tend to stuff useless activities into many little pockets. Lazy moment here, random web link there, daydreaming heeeeeeeeeeeeere, you get the idea.

Now to sum it all up, our time belongs to God–and therefore, we should honor Him with it. Not just in the one hour (or fifteen minutes) we set aside for Him in the morning, but in all our other waking hours. I’m working on it, and I hope you’ll join me. 🙂

“Whoever can be trusted with very little can also be trusted with much, and whoever is dishonest with very little will also be dishonest with much.”
– Luke 16:10

“Teach us to number our days aright, that we may gain a heart of wisdom.”
– Psalm 90:12

Leave a Reply

