When I Can’t Breathe

Barely breathing
Suffocating
All light and joy now fade and flee

Darkness swells
As I lie, waiting
Have You, my God, forsaken me?

Whisper truth
Some gentle word
Embrace me, slowly, carefully

Remind me when
My heart You stirred
Calm my soul, Lord, hear my plea

I still can’t breathe
And I can’t think
God, must this darkness come to me?

I’m nearing
Desperation’s brink
This part of Your plan I can’t see

I’m reaching out
God, take my hand
I’ll follow where You’re leading me

For though the night
Is still so dark
I have to trust You’re guiding me

And if the sun
Never returns
You will, to life, my beacon be

Leave a Reply

