From the Nightclub Music: A Lesson in Grace

There are many things I enjoy about the weekend. Sleeping in on Saturdays, of course. The extra time to make a nicer breakfast for my husband. I’m also growing fond of the late music that floats through my window from the nightclub down the street. Sometimes it’s a slow, soothing jazz melody, sometimes there’s a country twang…usually it’s something fun to listen to while I fall asleep.

Last night it sounded like some tribal constipation chant. No joke.

It caused me to consider my very non-nightclub-ish life and really appreciate what I have in my marriage–in my relationship with my husband, and in my relationship with God. I’m learning what it means to be satisfied in life, and how it has more dimensions than I originally thought. Mick Jagger and the Rolling Stones still might not be getting satisfaction, but I am. And I know it is better than the kind they are seeking.

(I spent a good 15-20 minutes trying to condense this thought into a concise Facebook post last night, but it didn’t work.)

I wanted to say that I am blessed in my marriage, and that as believers we should be able to boast about how good our sex life is with our spouse–since we are able to enjoy it the way God intended.

But…what about people who aren’t married? Doesn’t that slap them in the face? Especially if they want to be married…would saying that seem like I’m just bragging?

Or this: I want to say that saving sex for marriage is worth the hard wait. Cliché perhaps, but true.

But…what about those who have already “done it” and are not married? Am I condemning them? Am I putting myself on a pedestal?

I really could not resolve this last night, so I set my iPod back down and tried to go to sleep.

My dilemma, essentially, is this: How do I rave about the blessings of a God-designed relationship and promote it as the wonderful thing it is…without sounding like,

1) I’m the best!
2) Why aren’t you married yet?
3) If you’re not living in a godly manner, just go to hell already.

Because truly, God gives grace. His grace is the only thing that enables us to enjoy anything in this life: it frees us from the condemnation of our sin. And God blesses us richly! How many of you have far more than you need? More food, more money, more clothes…than you need…and these are only the tangible things.

How many of you have experienced the blessing of friendship, or the joy of another person in your life? How many of you have enjoyed the coming of a sunset, or the beauty of a thunderstorm, or the melody of an evening rain?

O, that we would live in recognition of these blessings!

And you don’t have to be married to be blessed. I count marriage among my many blessings, but it is not the only one. If you’re not married yet, I challenge you to see how God is blessing you in many, many other ways–just look around.

Finally, if perhaps you are not living in a godly manner…God is still extending grace. Redemption is still here. God would rather forgive you than condemn you–and He demonstrated that by giving you an option for freedom. But it’s your choice.

Do I condemn you? No. I can only stand before Him uncondemnned and unchained because of His grace. And so can you.

Choose grace.

– –

“[Jesus said] I tell you the truth, whoever hears My word and believes Him who sent Me has eternal life and will not be condemned; he has crossed over from death to life.”
– John 5:24

“Then Jesus declared, ‘I am the bread of life. He who comes to Me will never go hungry, and he who believes in Me will never be thirsty. But as I told you, you have seen Me and still you do not believe. All that the Father gives Me will come to Me, and whoever comes to Me I will never drive away. For I have come down from heaven not to do My will but to do the will of Him who sent Me. And this is the will of Him who sent Me, that I shall lose none of all that He has given Me, but raise them up at the last day. For My Father’s will is that everyone who looks to the Son and believes in Him shall have eternal life, and I will raise him up at the last day.'”
– John 6:35-40

Leave a Reply

